Author Topic: new upgrade.....  (Read 6755 times)

Adnap Apap

  • Game Server Admin
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
new upgrade.....
« on: March 11, 2013, 09:37:13 pm »
Like seriously, this is ticking me off... Anyone else had this problem?

I had the upgrade come up on my comp a couple days ago and it seemed to freeze. Ever since then, I can't log into CS. It starts and then shuts down.... any idea's?


DaNgeR

  • Technetic Sergeant
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 10:36:24 pm »
Yea I'm having a similar issue due to the upgrade.  If you read my post in Tech Support you will see a post was made explaining what happened and why the problems for a lot of people.  I myself can login but any CS game other than GO pulls up like normal just to close out.  If I log directly into a server I can hear all the sounds going on and was even able to somehow pick a character and buy weapons however my screen is green and I have no visual.  I could play the game just couldn't see where I was running, shooting, ect.  I have sent a ticket in to STEAM tech support and am still waiting after 3 days to hear back from them about the issue.  Hopefully I can get this fixed or I might find myself searching for a replacement game.  I guess patience is a virtue but mine is wearing thin now.

General DN 101

  • Owner/Founder/President
  • General of Technetic
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1608
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 02:44:12 am »
[STEP 1] (PROBABLY ALREADY DONE)
Restart Steam > Open CZ > It will ask you to update or convert some files > click ok > walk way for 5 minutes or so (don't try to view steam messages or anything at all until it completes)

[STEP 2]
Game probably won't launch at this point.
Right Click the Steam icon in the Tray (Next to the clock) > Library > On the left hand side find Conditon Zero > Right Click > Properties > Local Files > Click "Verify Integrity Of Game Cache..." > follow through the prompts > (run it again once it completes) > then click close > Launch CZ (if it doesn't launch repeat step 2)


**ADVISE turn off peer block if you use it.

Adnap Apap

  • Game Server Admin
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 06:08:54 pm »
This is nice of a gaming company to do this....

I will try that and see what happens.... thanks


Adnap Apap

  • Game Server Admin
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2013, 06:16:36 pm »
nope... closed steam and opened it up again and it doesnt ask for upgrades. When I click on their updates, it says I am current.... but go to get into the game and it says bad client file.

I may have to uninstall and then try a reinstall.... I suddenly hate steam....

incubus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2013, 06:26:06 pm »
I have always hated steam, CS was such a great game before steam took over.. anyways sorry i haven't been on much to help but i will check tonight when i get home.

General DN 101

  • Owner/Founder/President
  • General of Technetic
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1608
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2013, 08:09:38 pm »
Yep hate steam for that matter too...
For most people Step 1 was complete... So just do step 2 twice then try and launch CZ... Let me know what errors you get after that.

BraveFart

  • Active Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2344
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2013, 10:58:46 pm »
I've done all of that.  Not to mention uninstalling/reinstalling Steam and all of my Counter-Strike games, and it still doesn't fix it.  I did the same as Dumunt by submitting a ticket to Steam for some support.  Seems like it's a bigger issue than they imagined, and I'm a little bit surprised they made no official announcements advising that they are working on this. 

General DN 101

  • Owner/Founder/President
  • General of Technetic
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1608
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2013, 01:56:37 am »
Its there indirect way of saying FUCK YOU CZ COMMUNITY DIE ALREADY!

DaNgeR

  • Technetic Sergeant
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2013, 01:20:23 pm »
So I finally got a reply form Steam.  This is the email I was sent.


"Thank you for contacting Steam Support.
 
Please exit Steam and go to the folder called C:\Program Files\Steam\ (this is the default location for a Steam installation - if you set a different installation directory, you will need to browse to it).
 
Delete all of the files in this folder except:
 
 - \Steamapps\ and \Userdata\ folders
 
 - Steam.exe (this file is listed as an application and features the black and white Steam logo)
 
Restart your computer.
 
Then, launch Steam.exe from within the Steam installation folder, and not from a pre-existing shortcut.
 
With Steam running, re-test the original issue.
 
Note: This process will not affect your currently installed games.
 
If the issue persists, make sure your network is optimized for Steam:
 
Title: Troubleshooting Network Connectivity
 Link: http://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=1456-EUDN-2493"

If any of you want to try this as well it might work.
 

incubus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2013, 03:50:30 pm »
Did it work for you?

DaNgeR

  • Technetic Sergeant
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2013, 04:46:27 pm »
I may have messed it up even more or I may have done it right but it still has the same issue.  When I restarted I let it update and then logged in using the Steam pop up when setting for a new pc.  Had to get the email code and all.  Like I said that may have been wrong but I didnt remember seeing anything that said do not let it update but I also sisnt use the C folder to log in so that may be why.  Wondering if I can try it again if all the files are back since it updated.

incubus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2013, 07:24:37 pm »
do you have launch options for when you open CZ?

BraveFart

  • Active Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2344
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2013, 10:05:40 pm »
So I finally got a reply form Steam.  This is the email I was sent.


"Thank you for contacting Steam Support.
 
Please exit Steam and go to the folder called C:\Program Files\Steam\ (this is the default location for a Steam installation - if you set a different installation directory, you will need to browse to it).
 
Delete all of the files in this folder except:
 
 - \Steamapps\ and \Userdata\ folders
 
 - Steam.exe (this file is listed as an application and features the black and white Steam logo)
 
Restart your computer.
 
Then, launch Steam.exe from within the Steam installation folder, and not from a pre-existing shortcut.
 
With Steam running, re-test the original issue.
 
Note: This process will not affect your currently installed games.
 
If the issue persists, make sure your network is optimized for Steam:
 
Title: Troubleshooting Network Connectivity
 Link: http://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=1456-EUDN-2493"

If any of you want to try this as well it might work.

Doesn't look like a fix to me.  They should come out with something that acknowledges this to be a problem because there's several hundreds of complaints in the forums about this.

Adnap Apap

  • Game Server Admin
  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: new upgrade.....
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2013, 09:40:30 am »
I still can't get in and it's annoying as *&$%#! I'm not buying a new version. I even tried backdating the computer and that didn't work. I'm extremely busy with work and this crap doesn't help my stress levels... lol

Why can't they just come up with a fix.....?