Author Topic: technical difficulties  (Read 2038 times)

[T] seXy

• Technetic Sergeant
  • adrian,26
    • View Profile
technical difficulties
« on: November 17, 2015, 01:07:13 am »
im not really good at this.. ok so since i reset my computer im re-downloading all the maps.. somehow the map de_cold it wont load up for me. it says something in the line >couldnot open wad.null< something like that..

any ideas to fix it?
-too seXy ?

vindisel

• Technetic Sergeant
    • View Profile
Re: technical difficulties
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 01:14:21 am »
Sorry can't help Sexy :-[. Hope General, Swifty or Bob can help

BraveFart

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2015, 03:18:39 pm »
I had a problem like that after I had one of those stupid regular Steam updates and then had to restart and I had that error message.  What I tried to do and worked for me (at the time) was create a LAN game and then went into to the servers and it worked. 

General DN 101

• Owner/Founder/President
  • General of Technetic
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2015, 09:13:39 pm »
Meant to post this yesterday.
I hopped on seXy's PC to do what I thought was going to be a quick fix.

I soon discovered there was actually an issue in how Steam or the CZ game is handling .wad files.
Instead of downloading the .wad files as a file, it somehow is creating a directory called map_name.wad or whatever the referenced wad file was, in this case it was null.wad.

So at this time, until I can research a better fix (maybe there is a steam update that he needs that never came down, maybe CZ needs to be reinstalled so it gets updated properly, maybe it Windows 10 related since he recently updated.

We were able to get him up and running by copying over the null.wad file from my system (I gave him a few more .wad files as well).
He will get this issue again if he goes into a server that has a wad file he doesn't already have.